October goals

October has always felt like a special month to me.  There’s something about the coming of autumn, the falling into a routine, and the inevitable hunkering down as the days grow colder and the nights grow longer that feels right – like slipping on an old sweater and settling in by a good fire for awhile.

It seems especially fitting that I’ve decided that October is the month where I get some more balance in my life.  I have two big projects that will be done soon, which should reduce the stress and free up some time (oh, for a whole two days off in a row!)  That said, I don’t want to just wait and hope that finishing projects will improve things.  I need to find better ways to build balance into my schedule even when – scratch that, especially when – things are whirling around me hurricane-style.

For October, I’m setting out some goals that I hope will help me to keep me a bit more on track.  Work is important, since it pays the bills and there are tasks that have to be done, but I also want to pay attention to health, sustainability, and rest and relaxation, three of the things that I think I’ve slipped the most on and that are very important to my overall wellbeing.

Work:

  • Apply to at least three jobs
  • Edit four papers
  • Write two journal introductions

Health:

  • Eat at least five veggies and two fruits daily
  • Drink eight glasses of water daily
  • Run or bike at least twice per week
  • Do yoga at least twice per week
  • Meditate at least four times per week

Sustainability:

  • Turn peppers into red pepper jelly
  • Bring worm composters inside
  • Harvest beans, kale, and chard

Rest and relaxation:

  • Walk at least twice per week with J.
  • Read a half hour per day for pleasure
  • Cook one new meal per week
  • Make some time for playing the guitar

It seems like a long list, now that it’s all written out, and I’m not going to beat myself up too much if some of it doesn’t go to plan.  I think it’s important to have an ideal in mind, though, and some specific goals to achieve.  These are things I need to feel healthier and happier.  They’re important to do consistently, and this is the month I try to figure at least some of this balancing act out.  Welcome, October – I’ve been waiting for you.

Leave a Reply

