Summer plans

Oh wow – it’s been a lot longer than I though since I’d last written anything.  Life, as usual, tends to get in the way, and I’ve been finishing up a very busy semester, attending a conference, visiting family in New York, and just generally trying to get things in order around here as I try to sort some things out and think some things through – you know, all the deep, heavy, thought provoking stuff.

Technically, I’ve been “off” work for awhile now, although I’ve spent a good bit of time catching up on various things.  The rest of the time, I’ve been thinking about next steps and how I want to spend the summer.  For the first time in…well, forever, quite possibly, I’m not working for someone else through the summer doing research or editing a journal or planning a conference.  The shift is odd, and I’ve actually had a bit of a hard time settling in and figuring out what I want to do with myself, but it’s nice to have a bit of flexibility and freedom.

I have some work to do around redeveloping courses, learning some new technologies, and writing, writing, writing, but my time is a good deal less scheduled, which is both a pleasant shift and a bit of a difficulty since it’s easy to put things off for a bit. At the same time, I’m also trying to focus on many of the more personal things that I let slide this year.  But with this sudden wealth of time – especially coming after what’s been a fairly challenging year – I’ve found myself thinking more about what I want to do than actually doing it.  Given my startling realization earlier today that mid-June has somehow snuck up on me, I’ve decided that I’ve done quite enough thinking and actually need to act to get something done.  This is true of work tasks, but also true of the many things I want to do around family, friends, food, health, and generally taking a bit of time for me.

So, from here on in, it’s action time again.  Papers will be written.   Container gardens will be planted.  Bread will be baked. Technology will be learned.   Socks will be knit.  Books will be read.  Time will be spent with friends.  Food will be preserved.  And the summer will continue to feel too short, but at the very least I’ll have done something with it, and will hopefully feel a whole lot better about how I spent my time when September finally rolls around.

Leave a Reply

