Independence days

Despite being waylaid for a few days with a particularly nasty sinus headache, I’ve gotten a few things done around here under the Independence Days umbrella.  I seem to be especially focused on food, and it’s been lovely to spend more time gardening, cooking, baking, and shopping at the market, all of which has left us with an abundance of food and a lot of really, really tasty meals.

Plant something: started sprouts from mung beans; added three new containers of lettuce and peas (for the shoots) to the container garden

Harvest something: gathering wild yeast in my new sourdough and ginger beer starters

Preserve something: no preserving this week, sadly

Waste not: made a number of thrift store purchases this week – bowls (to replace a few broken ones), handmade pottery, a skein of Canadian wool, a large storage jar, another vintage wool blanket (it’s really as much a collection as anything else, at this point), three shallow plastic bins to add to my patio container garden, and copies of Forest Farming and World Vegetarian (which has been on my Amazon wish list for over two years now).

Want not: bought some extra seeds to have on hand; stocked up on brown rice and some dried beans; cleared out stored food to put into rotation

Eat the food: tried a few new recipes this week – cheddar biscuits, butter chickpeas – and ate a lot of salads and fresh farmers’ market fare

Build community food systems: more shopping at the market and chatting with farmers

Skill up: still working on improving my knitting; working to improve our bread baking and our favourite bagel recipe

Beyond these things, I’ve still been biking and walking everywhere, which feels great and keeps getting easier over time.  I’ve also been getting in some runs, so I’m feeling a lot fitter than I have in awhile.  In terms of home, I’ve been working hard to get the apartment decluttered and cleaned up, since it’s long overdue and I’m not really known for my extreme tidiness.  There’s a lot of stuff to get rid of, so we’ve been loading up the cart once or twice a week and schlepping things up to Goodwill – this, I assume, is my penance for bringing too much stuff home in the first place.  And, on a somewhat related topic, I’ve been noticing that in the summer, when it’s nice and I’m off work, I go to the thrift store more often than I normally would.  This is something that I think I’m going to consciously cut back on again – perhaps with a no spend challenge for July.

Leave a Reply

